Select Page

The Boston Red Sox is an American professional baseball team in Boston, Massachusetts.  Known as the most-storied franchises in American sports, they are a team rich in history and pride. Over the years the Red Sox have won Boston eight World Series titles and 13 American League (AL) pennants. For over 100 years, the Red Sox have broken records and helped mold baseball into the sport that it is today.
Their beginning was in 1901 when the team was first unofficially called the Boston Americans. It wasn’t until 1908 that the team was finally called the Boston Red Sox. They first began playing at the Huntington Avenue Grounds from 1901 to 1911 before moving to the world famous Fenway Park in 1912. Fenway Park is now the oldest of the current ballparks and home to the infamous “Green Monster”, which is a 37-foot 2-inch left field wall.
The Red Sox found immediate success with their very first star of the team, Cy Young. Cy set the standard for pitchers in American baseball and is the first to win 500 games for the past 100 years. Soon the team was lined up with star players like Tris Speaker, Smokey Joe Wood, and one of the greatest players of all time, Babe Ruth. Throughout the 1910s the Boston Red Sox won five championships and the team seemed unstoppable.
However, all good things must come to an end and the “Curse of the Bambino” took effect in 1920 when owner Harry Frazee traded Babe Ruth to the New York Yankees. This began the infamous rivalry between the Red Sox and the Yankees. After Ruth was traded, the Red Sox failed to win another championship in the twentieth century. Although the team acquired some of the greatest names in baseball over the years, including Jimmie Foxx, Carl Yastrzemski, and the very famous Ted Williams; the Red Sox did not win a single championship between 1918 and 2004. Even though they were able to make it to the world series four times, they lost each game.
It wasn’t until 2004, nearly a century later, that the curse had finally lifted. The Boston Red sox won the World Series against the St. Louis Cardinals. They again won the World Series in 2007 against the Colorado Rockies. They once again remained the most dominant-team in baseball throughout the end of 2010. They tended to go back forth between 2012 and 2016, during which they would have a record loss for games but also would go on to win another world series.
As of now, the Red Sox have set a whole new record in the baseball franchise history. In their game against Baltimore Orioles, the 2018 Boston Red Sox have become the winningest team in franchise history. Their 6-2 victory over the Orioles marked their 106th win in the season which broke the record. With a new record broken and three straight AL East titles, the Red Sox have their eyes set on another World Championships win. Over 100 years of champion history, breaking a curse and setting franchise records proves that the Boston Red Sox are a force to be reckoned with in Major League Baseball.